1. Kondiaronk Lookout. This terrace is named for a First Nations chief who contributed to a peace treaty with French Canada in 1701. It's located on the south face of the Mount Royal escarpment and accessible on foot or by road. Visitors are treated to a stunning view of the city and the Saint Lawrence River. On a clear day one can see several of the other Monteregian Hills in the distance. Photo courtesy www.hsltrip.com
2. Jean-Drapeau Park. The park is comprised of two islands in the Saint Lawrence River which were once the grounds for the Expo ‘67 World’s Fair. Today it offers many year-round activities and has great views of the city and suburbs on either side of the river. One favourite viewing spot is on the Concorde Bridge that connects the park to downtown. At right is the silver-domed Bonsecours Market which is a focal point of Old Montreal, and Mount Royal rises in the background.
3. Saint Joseph's Oratory. Mark Twain once wrote of Montreal, "This is the first time I was ever in a city where you couldn't throw a brick without breaking a church window." There are still many churches in the city but the best known is Saint Joseph's Oratory which rests on Mount Royal's western slope. Not only it is Canada's largest basilica but its dome is Montreal's highest point. Photo courtesy Evelyn Reid.
4. Lac Saint Louis. Folklore states that the joining place of the Ottawa and Saint Lawrence Rivers was named for a young explorer who drowned here in 1611. Panoramic views of the lake and its islands are accessible from the shores of many of Montreal's western suburbs. It is frequented by watercraft in the warmer months; boaters can see a unique phenomenon as the green waters of the Saint Lawrence meet the brown waters of the Ottawa River near the centre of the lake. Photo courtesy en.db-city.com
5. McGill College Avenue. This downtown avenue is Montreal in microcosm: a wide boulevard on which stands steel and glass skyscrapers that are flanked by older granite, limestone, and brick buildings. The road ends after only four blocks at the gates to the scenic grounds of McGill University, but the view continues up Mount Royal to the cross that stands on the northeastern summit. The original wooden cross was planted in 1643 by the city’s founder as thanks to the Virgin Mary for sparing the settlement from flooding. The current cross was installed in 1924. Photo courtesy Denis Chabot.